This page has two jobs. First, it explains every line printed on the panel of the bottle we sell, and every badge on its front, what each ingredient is, and what the research does and does not say about it, including who was in each study and at what amount. Second, and this is the part most advertising pages leave out, it lists the headlines we run, tells you which ones are exaggerated, and separates the small number of things that are genuinely supported by evidence from the many that are not.
You almost certainly arrived here from an advertisement. The headline you clicked was written by us and paid for by us to appear next to real news stories. It was designed to make you stop scrolling. Several of our headlines overstate what science actually shows, and a few attribute statements to experts who do not exist.
Everything on this site is a paid advertisement for a product we sell. If you buy through a link on any of our pages, we are paid a commission. That is the reason this site exists.
The product is a 32-fluid-ounce amber glass bottle of a berry-and-pomegranate-flavored liquid, sold by Liquid Health, Inc. of Mesquite, Nevada, as a dietary supplement. Two tablespoons, one fluid ounce, is a serving, 32 servings to the bottle, shaken before pouring and refrigerated after opening. Each serving carries vitamin E at 7.5 mg, folate printed as 7.5 mg beside 50 percent of the Daily Value (two figures that cannot both be right), vitamin B12 at 400 mcg and choline at 100 mg, plus two proprietary blends of 815 mg and 655 mg covering eleven named ingredients with no individual amount printed for any of them. It is not a medicine, it is not meant for any medical condition, and no study has ever tested those fifteen things together in anyone. The label carries the standard statement that its claims have not been evaluated by the FDA. No food, drink or supplement on this page is a substitute for your own clinician.
If you are genuinely worried about your memory, the single most useful thing you can do is book an appointment with your own clinician. That costs you nothing from us, and a proper conversation about your nights, your hearing, what you take daily and your habits is worth more than anything we are selling. We would rather you close this page and make that call than buy something under a false impression.
These are the headlines we have run, grouped by the claim they make. The right-hand column is our own plain assessment. We have marked each family of headlines as Exaggerated, Partly true, Withdrawn, Our headline was wrong or Broadly supported.
| The headline as you saw it | What is actually behind it |
|---|---|
| "Mental Decline Begins When Seniors Can't Spell These 3 Words. Test Now""Top Doctors Say Mental Decline Begins When Seniors Can't Pronounce These 3 Phrases. Can You?""MDs Say Mental Decline Begins When Seniors Can't Pronounce These 3 Phrases. Can You?""Memory Decline Begins When Seniors Say These 3 Phrases (See The List)""Declining Memory Begins When Seniors Say These 7 Phrases. See Which Ones" | Exaggerated There is no set of three words, three phrases or seven phrases whose spelling or pronunciation marks the beginning of anything. Nothing "begins" at a word. Word tasks do appear inside the short memory checks clinicians use, but those checks are given in person and read alongside your history, what you take daily and your age. Failing a word online means nothing on its own: plenty of people stumble over a word when they are tired, nervous or being timed. "Top Doctors" refers to no specific person. See section 4. |
| "Japan's Oldest Doctors Say Memory Loss Isn't Age: Just Avoid Drinking These 3 Beverages""Japan's Greatest Doctors Say Memory Loss Isn't Age: Just Avoid Drinking These 3 Beverages""Japan's Oldest Doctors Say Memory Loss Isn't Age: Just Avoid Eating These 3 Foods""Japan's Oldest Doctors Say Memory Loss Isn't Age: Just Stop Eating These 3 Foods" | Exaggerated No group of Japanese doctors issued this statement. There is no such panel, no such list, and no source we can point you to. Japan appears in the headline because it is widely associated with long life, which makes the claim feel credible. That is a marketing decision, not a citation. The second half is also wrong. Memory changes with age for everyone, and no diet removes that. What is true is narrower: certain long-term drinking and eating patterns travel with faster slippage on thinking tests in large population studies. [1] [2] Association is not proof of cause, and "just avoid these three" is not how any of it works. |
| "Nobel Prize's Doctors Say Memory Loss Isn't Age: Just Stop Eating These 3 Foods" | Withdrawn We retract this one outright. No Nobel laureate has endorsed this page, this product, or any list of three foods on our behalf. Attaching the Nobel Prize to an advertisement implies an authority that does not exist and we should not have run it. |
| "The Overlooked Boxed Cereal Now Tied to 8 Out of 10 Memory Cases" | Our headline was wrong There is no such statistic. No study ties any cereal to eight out of ten cases of anything, "memory cases" is not a category any researcher uses, and no cereal has been "overlooked" by anyone: the sugar figure is printed on the side of every box. The number was invented for the headline and we withdraw it. The grain of truth is the same as for the other cereal headlines below: a diet heavy in ultra-processed food, the sweet cereal shelf included, travels in a large Brazilian study with somewhat faster slippage on thinking tests over eight years. [2] That is a modest association across thousands of people, not eight in ten of anyone. See section 3. |
| "Brain Experts Now Say These 3 Cereals Age the Brain Faster Than Time""Scientists Now Say This 1 Cereal Ages the Brain Faster Than Time" | Exaggerated No food ages the brain "faster than time." That phrase was written for effect and it is not a finding from any study. It is also internally inconsistent: in one version it is three cereals, in another it is one, because the number is something we test for click-through, not something anyone measured. The grain of truth: diets high in ultra-processed food are associated with somewhat faster slippage on thinking tests over years. [2] That is a modest effect across a population, not a fate sealed by a bowl of cereal. See section 3. |
| "Doctors Now Say This Popular Evening Drink Is Behind Memory Loss""Doctors Now Say This Popular Evening Drink Is Behind Brain Health Decline" | Partly true The "evening drink" is alcohol, and of everything our ads point at, this is where the evidence is strongest. In British civil servants followed for thirty years, higher drinking went with shrinkage of the hippocampus, the region most involved in forming memories, and with faster decline in word fluency; light drinkers had no edge over non-drinkers. [1] What is overstated is the word "behind." Alcohol is one contributing factor among many, not the cause of memory slips. Cutting back is a genuinely good idea. It is also worth saying plainly: the panel of the bottle we sell lists no alcohol, although it prints no line of other ingredients at all, so ask the company if that matters to you. |
| "Doctors Name 5 Popular Drinks Now Tied To Memory Decline. Coffee Tops The List""Seniors: These 4 Drinks May Be Aging Your Brain Faster""The 4 Drinks Brain Doctors Want Seniors to Quit""Neurologists Say Cognitive Decline Isn't Age: Just Stop Drinking These 2 Popular Drinks""Doctors: 3 Popular Drinks Now Tied to Memory Loss in Seniors" | Exaggerated Notice that the count changes: two drinks, three, four, five. It changes because it is an advertising variable we rotate, not a number that came out of a study. No doctor is named in any version, because none was consulted. "Coffee Tops The List" is the clearest thing we have got wrong: none of the studies on this page is about plain coffee, and the liquid we sell is itself poured in the morning, often beside a cup of coffee. The Food and Drug Administration cites 400 milligrams of caffeine a day, two to three 12-ounce cups of brewed coffee, as an amount not generally associated with negative effects in most healthy adults. [3] See section 2. |
| "Brain Doctors: Quit These 4 Drinks Before It's Too Late" | Exaggerated No brain doctor was consulted for this headline, and there is no "too late." The deadline was invented to make you click. The four drinks are the ones in section 2: alcohol, sugar-sweetened soft drinks, energy drinks and sweetened coffee-shop drinks. Cutting back on them is sensible for your nights, your weight and your wallet, and heavy drinking travels with poorer memory outcomes over years. [1] There is no evidence that quitting them on any particular day changes anything about your memory, and there is no age after which the change stops being worth making. See section 2. |
| "Memory Slipping? Check These 4 Everyday Drinks First" | Partly true Half right, in the wrong order. If your memory is slipping, the first thing to check is not a drink; it is a conversation with your own clinician about your nights, your hearing and what you take daily, none of which is settled by changing what you pour. The four drinks are the everyday ones in section 2. Reviewing them is a reasonable second step. Not enough plain water belongs on the list too. [4] [5] See section 2. |
| "America's Top Experts Say Mental Decline Isn't Aging: Just Avoid These 5 Kitchen Drinks" | Exaggerated The same construction as the "Japan's doctors" headline above, with the country changed. No panel of American experts issued this statement, and we cannot point you to one. Memory changes with age, and no drink removes that. The five kitchen drinks are alcohol, sugar-sweetened sodas, diet sodas, energy drinks and sweetened coffee-shop drinks, all in section 2, where the honest version of each is written out. "Just avoid" overstates what any of that evidence shows. |
| "Still Sharp at 90? Seniors Are Rethinking These 3 Everyday Foods" | Partly true The gentlest of our headlines, and still an overstatement. Nobody knows what keeps a particular person sharp at 90, and no single food does it. The three everyday foods are sugary breakfast cereals, processed meats and packaged baked goods, all in section 3. Eating less of them is part of the long, slow habits in section 5, and no food is a promise at any age. |
| "Drink one cup a day and watch your memory change" | Exaggerated There is no cup. The product is two tablespoons of a liquid, poured from the refrigerator door and taken straight or stirred into a drink. Nothing in that serving has been shown to change memory: four of its lines are vitamins and choline at ordinary or large amounts, and the eleven names in its two blends carry no stated amount at all, so no comparison with any trial is possible. B vitamins do little for thinking in people who are not short of them. [6] "Watch your memory change" should not have been written. See sections 6 and 7. |
| "A Piano Player, Eight Badges and One Sentence: The Front of a Brain Supplement" | Broadly supported This headline describes the front of the bottle, and every part of it can be checked by turning the bottle toward you. The label carries an illustration of a figure at a piano keyboard, eight small badges in two columns headed "All Good Stuff" and "No Bad Stuff", and one sentence under the name: "A powerful blend to promote mental acuity in everyday life & brain health over time." The headline says nothing about what the liquid does. The article it leads to reads the badges one by one, finds that the panel on the back supports nearly all of them, and finds that the sentence is larger than the evidence behind its ingredients. See section 7. |
| "Neurologists Name 5 Popular Prescriptions Now Tied to Memory Decline" | Partly true, and the one not to act on alone No neurologist named a list for us, and we will not print one. What is true is that pharmacists keep lists of everyday products, some sold over the counter, that are often a poor fit after 65, and that a yearly look at everything you take is worth having. But an advertisement is the worst possible reason to change anything a clinician gave you: never stop or change it because of something you read in an ad, including ours. Put everything you take in one bag, this bottle included, and ask your pharmacist. See the box at the end of section 2. |
An honest answer: these headlines appear beside real news stories, competing for attention with everything else on the page, and dramatic phrasing gets clicked. That is the incentive, and we are subject to it like every other advertiser.
It is also why this page exists. Once you are here, you are entitled to know exactly which claims we can stand behind and which ones were written to get your attention. Everything below is the sober version.
Our headlines have referred, in different versions, to "2 popular drinks", "3 beverages", "4 drinks", "5 popular drinks" and "this popular evening drink" without ever naming them. Here is the complete list of what we were pointing at, and what the research actually supports for each one. Where a study is cited, it is observational unless stated otherwise: it can show that two things travel together in a population, not that one causes the other.
This is the "popular evening drink" · Best-supported of the group
What the research says. A long-running study of British civil servants found that higher drinking, even at moderate levels, went with shrinkage of the hippocampus and faster decline in word fluency, and that light drinkers had no advantage over people who did not drink. [1] Alcohol also disturbs your nights and interacts with many everyday medicines.
Honest verdict. Of everything on this list, cutting back on alcohol has the strongest case behind it. It is still not "the cause" of memory slips, and no amount of cutting back is a promise.
About the product we sell. Its panel lists no alcohol, but it also prints no line of other ingredients, so the base liquid is not described on the bottle. If it matters to you, ask the company before you buy.
Important. If you drink heavily every day, do not stop abruptly on your own. Ask your clinician how to cut back safely.
Part of the "3 popular drinks" and "4 drinks" · Partly supported
What the research says. Soft drinks sit on the ultra-processed shelf, and in a Brazilian study of 10,775 adults followed for about eight years, the people who ate and drank the most from that shelf slipped somewhat faster on thinking tests than those who ate the least. [2]
Honest verdict. A reasonable thing to cut down on, mostly for reasons that have nothing to do with a dramatic headline. Replacing them with water is a cheap, low-risk change. [4]
About the product we sell. Its panel prints five calories, one gram of carbohydrate and zero grams of sugars a serving. The front says its sweeteners come from plants, and the panel does not name them.
Often the "surprising" drink in our ads · No evidence we can stand behind
What the research says. We are not aware of a study that gives a clear answer about diet soft drinks and everyday memory, and we cite none here.
Honest verdict. Unresolved, and not a reason to panic. Anyone who tells you diet soda has been shown to harm your memory is going beyond the evidence.
Part of the "4 drinks brain doctors want seniors to quit" · Indirect concern
What the research says. There is little direct research linking energy drinks to memory. The concern for older adults is more immediate: high caffeine loads combined with sugar can bring a faster heartbeat, palpitations, jitters, an upset stomach and a poor night. [3]
Honest verdict. Worth avoiding if you are over 65 or sensitive to caffeine, for those reasons rather than any proven memory effect.
About the product we sell. Its panel lists no caffeine.
The version of "coffee" our ads should have named · Partly supported
What the research says. These are sugary drinks that happen to contain coffee. Whatever applies to sugar-sweetened beverages applies to them. A large flavored frappé can carry as much added sugar as a soft drink.
Honest verdict. If our "coffee" headline had meant this, it would have been defensible. It did not, and we should have been specific.
Named in our headline as the worst offender · Our headline was wrong
What the research says. None of the studies on this page is about ordinary black coffee or plain tea, and tea is a routine part of the eating patterns studied for memory. Green, black and oolong tea all come from the same plant, and green tea contains caffeine. [7] Caffeine late in the day can cost you a night, so timing matters more than the drink itself. The Food and Drug Administration cites 400 milligrams of caffeine a day, two to three 12-ounce cups of brewed coffee, as an amount not generally associated with negative effects in most healthy adults. [3]
Honest verdict. "Coffee Tops The List" was a bad headline. If you drink coffee, enjoy it, and it does not cost you your nights, the evidence does not ask you to give it up.
We do not print a list, and you should not act on one from an advertisement. Do not stop, reduce or skip anything a clinician gave you because of this page or any of our headlines.
The right action is simple: put everything you take, including what you buy over the counter, into one bag with this bottle and take it to your pharmacist. Ask: "Is anything here a poor choice at my age, and does anything here argue with the huperzine A or the ginkgo in this bottle?" That second question matters here because both sit inside a blend that does not print amounts, so your pharmacist is working from names rather than figures, and should be told so.
The food headlines referred to "3 foods" and to "cereals": one cereal in some versions, three in others. Again, the number was ours, not a finding. Here is what was meant, and what stands behind it.
The "3 cereals" / "1 cereal" that "age the brain faster than time" · Partly supported
What the research says. Frosted, honey-coated and chocolate cereals are mostly refined starch and added sugar, and many carry more sugar per serving than a cookie. They sit on the ultra-processed shelf that travels with faster slippage on thinking tests over years. [2] No study has found that any cereal "ages the brain faster than time." That phrase is ours and it is not defensible. In the Framingham families, diets that carried more choline, which is eggs, milk, meat and beans, went with better scores on memory tests. [8]
Honest verdict. Reading the sugar figure on the box is a sensible habit. Plain oats, plain shredded wheat and unsweetened whole-grain cereals are inexpensive swaps, and eggs, milk and beans are where that study's choline came from.
The honest version of all our food headlines · Partly supported
What the research says. A large Brazilian cohort found that adults with the highest intake of ultra-processed foods slipped faster on overall thinking and planning tests over roughly eight years than those who ate the least. [2] This is observational, the effect size was modest, and diet is tangled up with income, education and dozens of other factors.
Honest verdict. The pattern of your food over years matters more than any single item. That is a duller message than "these 3 foods", which is exactly why our headlines do not say it.
Usually one of the "3 foods" · Partly supported
What the research says. Processed meats are part of the ultra-processed shelf in the study above. [2]
Honest verdict. Worth moderating. Not an emergency, and not undone by any supplement or any bottle.
Usually one of the "3 foods" · Partly supported
What the research says. Fast food sits on the same shelf, and the same study applies. [2]
Honest verdict. Same as above: pattern over years, not any one meal.
The refined-carbohydrate group · Partly supported
What the research says. The eating pattern most studied for memory is the MIND pattern: leafy greens, berries, beans, nuts, whole grains, olive oil and fish. In a three-year trial of 604 older adults, the group that ate that way and a group that simply ate a little less both improved their thinking scores, by about the same amount. [9] Berries, leafy greens, beans, nuts, olive oil and fish are ordinary groceries; eating them costs nothing extra and is untroubled by any of the cautions on this page.
Honest verdict. The useful advice was never "stop eating these 3 foods." It is "shift the overall pattern," which takes months and cannot be sold in a headline.
Drink less alcohol. Drink less sugar. Keep your coffee, earlier in the day if it costs you your nights. Drink enough plain water. Eat more like the MIND or Mediterranean pattern (vegetables, whole grains, beans, nuts, olive oil, fish, berries) and less like a vending machine. Every one of those changes costs nothing extra, and none of them requires anything we sell.
Several of our headlines invite you to test yourself on words or phrases: spell these three words, pronounce these three phrases, see whether you say these seven phrases. There is no such validated test, and we cannot give you a real one, because a real one does not work that way.
What an actual memory check looks like. Clinicians use short structured checks. They do include word tasks: recalling three unrelated words after a delay, naming animals, repeating a sentence. But three things make them different from an online quiz:
These checks also produce false alarms. A bad night, trouble hearing, and simply being nervous all lower scores in people whose memory is fine. This is precisely why an online word quiz is meaningless: it has none of the context that makes the real check useful.
We are sorry. Take it as a prompt rather than a verdict: if the worry is real, bring it to your own clinician and ask for a proper memory check. If it was just a startling headline, the reassurance you are looking for cannot come from a quiz on an advertising page, including this one.
If we only had one section to be useful in, this would be it. None of these is a supplement, a bottle, or a list of three foods, and none of them can be sold to you by us.
These are unglamorous. They cannot be delivered in a headline, they take years, and they are, by a wide margin, the most useful things on this entire page.
What each line printed on the panel of Liquid Health is, what it is traditionally used for, and what the cited research says, including who was in each study and at what amount. Two tablespoons, one fluid ounce, is a serving. Three notes on the panel itself, which you should read before the entries below. Four lines carry an amount and a percent of the Daily Value: vitamin E, folate, vitamin B12 and choline. The B12 line, 400 mcg printed as 16,667 percent, is correct arithmetic against the 2.4 mcg Daily Value. [11] The folate line prints 7.5 mg beside 50 percent of the Daily Value, and those two figures cannot both be right, because half of the 400 mcg Daily Value would be 200 mcg; ask the company for the correct figure before you start. Everything else sits inside two proprietary blends, the Memory and Focus Blend at 815 mg and the Alertness and Mental Clarity Blend at 655 mg, covering eleven names with no split printed, so none of them can be checked against the amount its own study used: for scale, the largest ginkgo trial used 240 mg a day of ginkgo on its own, [12] while on this bottle ginkgo is one of five names sharing 655 mg. The panel prints no line of other ingredients, so the base liquid, the flavor and the sweeteners are not named on the bottle.
A fat-soluble vitamin that works as an antioxidant in cell membranes. The label form, d-alpha tocopherol acetate, is the natural form of the vitamin with an acetate group attached to make it stable in a liquid. Nuts, seeds, vegetable oils, spinach and avocado are the usual food sources.
What the research says. In the Women's Health Study, 6,377 generally healthy women aged 65 or older took 600 IU of vitamin E on alternate days for up to 9.6 years and gained no cognitive benefit over placebo.[13] That amount is many times the 7.5 mg in this product, so the trial says nothing in favour of the label amount either.
Amount per serving in Neurologic. 7.5 mg (50 % DV)
Good to know. At high supplemental doses vitamin E can interfere with vitamin K and raise the risk of bleeding, which matters if you take anything that thins the blood; the amount here is modest. The upper limit for adults is 1,000 mg a day. Talk to your doctor before use if you take anything daily.
A water-soluble B vitamin, also called vitamin B9, found in leafy greens, beans, lentils, asparagus and fortified grains. The label form is calcium folinate, also known as folinic acid or leucovorin, a reduced folate that the body can use without the enzyme step that ordinary folic acid needs.
What the research says. A Cochrane review of 14 trials in 27,882 cognitively healthy adults concluded that B-vitamin supplements, including folic acid, probably have little or no effect on global cognitive function up to five years.[6] That review says nothing about people who are actually short of folate.
Amount per serving in Neurologic. 7.5 mg, as printed (printed beside it as 50 % DV; the two figures do not agree with each other, and 50 % of the 400 mcg Daily Value would be 200 mcg)
Good to know. The upper limit for folic acid from supplements and fortified food is 1,000 mcg a day; large amounts of supplemental folate can hide a shortage of vitamin B12 on a blood test. Talk to your doctor before use if you take anything daily.
A vitamin found naturally only in animal foods — meat, fish, eggs and dairy — and in fortified products. The body absorbs it through a two-step process in the stomach and small intestine that becomes less efficient with age, which is why supplement doses are often many times the daily requirement: only a small percentage of a large oral dose is taken up.
What the research says. A Cochrane review of 14 trials in 27,882 cognitively healthy adults concluded that B-vitamin supplements, including vitamin B12, probably have little or no effect on global cognitive function up to five years.[6] That review says nothing about people who are actually short of B12; in the European Union the vitamin carries authorised claims that it contributes to normal psychological function, to normal functioning of the nervous system and to the reduction of tiredness and fatigue.
Amount per serving in Neurologic. 400 mcg (16,667 % DV)
Good to know. No upper limit has been set, because unabsorbed vitamin B12 is not stored. A blood test is the only way to know whether you are short of it; ask your doctor rather than guessing.
An essential nutrient that is not strictly a vitamin. The body uses it to make acetylcholine, a messenger chemical involved in muscle control, memory and many other nerve functions, and phosphatidylcholine, a building block of every cell membrane. Eggs, meat, poultry, fish, cruciferous vegetables, peanuts and dairy are the main food sources. Vitacholine is a branded choline bitartrate, the common supplement salt.
What the research says. In a community cohort of 1,391 adults aged 36 to 83 with healthy thinking, higher choline intake from food was associated with better scores on verbal and visual memory tests.[8] That is an association with diet, not a trial of a supplement, and it does not show that adding choline improves memory.
Amount per serving in Neurologic. 100 mg (18 % DV)
Good to know. The upper limit for adults is 3,500 mg a day; very large intakes have been associated with lightheadedness, sweating, a fishy body odour and stomach upset. The amount here is far below that. Talk to your doctor before use if you take anything daily.
A cactus-like plant that grows in hot, dry climates. Products are made from different parts of the leaf: the clear gel from the inner leaf, the bitter yellow latex from the outer layer, and the whole crushed leaf. In Liquid Health Neurologic it is the inner-leaf gel, pressed into a juice, and it most likely serves as part of the liquid base of the blend; the TeaRaja tin of loose-leaf tea does not say which part of the leaf it uses.
Traditional and everyday use. The gel has been applied to the skin for centuries; aloe drinks are a common beverage ingredient.
What the research says. No research links aloe to memory or attention, and we make no claim for it here.
Good to know. Aloe latex is a laxative and in 2002 the FDA required its removal from over-the-counter laxative products for lack of safety data; the inner-leaf gel is the milder part. Oral aloe leaf extracts have been linked to rare cases of inflammation of the organ that processes what you swallow: stop and talk to your doctor if you notice unusual tiredness, dark urine, or yellowing of the skin or eyes. Talk to your doctor before use if you take anything daily.
The acetylated form of carnitine, a compound the body makes from amino acids and also gets from meat and dairy. Carnitine carries long-chain fatty acids into the mitochondria, the parts of the cell that burn fuel. The acetyl form is the one usually sold and studied for the nervous system; it is available without prescription as a supplement.
What the research says. The research on acetyl-L-carnitine and thinking has been done in people with a diagnosed condition, not in healthy adults, so none of it can be cited here and we make no claim for it.
Good to know. Generally well tolerated; large amounts can cause nausea, cramps or diarrhoea and a fishy body odour. Talk to your doctor before use if you take anything daily for your hormones, or if you take anything daily.
A compound made of choline joined to a glycerophosphate group. The body makes small amounts of it when it breaks down phosphatidylcholine, and it occurs naturally in milk and organ meats. In a supplement it is a concentrated source of choline that is also sold, in some countries, as a medicine for uses that have nothing to do with a healthy adult's memory.
What the research says. Trials in healthy adults are small and short, and none in healthy older adults could be found, so we make no claim for it here.
Good to know. Can cause headache, heartburn or dizziness in some people. Talk to your doctor before use if you take anything daily.
A phospholipid, one of the fatty building blocks of cell membranes, present in high concentration in brain tissue. Supplement phosphatidylserine is made from soy or sunflower lecithin; this product uses soy.
What the research says. In a six-month double-blind trial of 78 Japanese adults aged 50 to 69 with memory complaints, soy phosphatidylserine at 100 or 300 mg a day was safe, and test scores rose similarly in every group including placebo; only the subgroup that started with low scores improved from its own baseline, mostly in delayed word recall.[14] The main comparison with placebo, in other words, was null.
Good to know. Made from soy, so relevant to anyone with a soy allergy: note that the store's own product tags say "Soy Free" while the panel says "from Non-GMO soy". Talk to your doctor before use if you take anything that affects clotting or take anything daily.
An amino acid found almost exclusively in tea leaves (Camellia sinensis) and in a few mushrooms. A cup of brewed green tea contains roughly 25 to 60 mg of it. It is what gives green tea its savoury, brothy taste.
Traditional and everyday use. Consumed for centuries as part of everyday tea drinking in China and Japan; isolated and named in Japan in 1949.
What the research says. In a placebo-controlled study in men and women aged 50 to 69, a single dose of l-theanine was associated with a faster reaction time on an attention task and with more correct answers and fewer omission errors on a working-memory task.[15] The published summary of that study does not state the dose used, so no comparison with any product amount can be made from it. In a four-week crossover trial of 30 healthy adults averaging 48 years, 200 mg a day was followed by better verbal-fluency and executive-function scores; against placebo the verbal-fluency gain showed in the half who started lower, and two authors worked for the supplier.[16]
Good to know. Generally well tolerated. If you are pregnant, nursing, or take anything daily, talk to your doctor before adding any supplement.
A sulphur-containing compound, also called thioctic acid, that the body makes in small amounts and uses as a helper for several enzyme complexes in the mitochondria. It occurs in food bound to protein, in spinach, broccoli and organ meats; supplements contain the free form. It is a direct antioxidant, although any effect on free radicals in the body is likely brief.
What the research says. No trial of alpha lipoic acid on memory or attention in healthy adults could be found, and we make no claim for it here.
Good to know. At supplement doses it can enhance the uptake of glucose by cells, which matters to anyone who manages their glucose. Talk to your doctor before use if you take anything daily.
An amino acid found in protein foods such as cheese, meat, fish, eggs, beans and nuts; the body also makes it from another amino acid, phenylalanine. It is the starting material for the messenger chemicals dopamine and norepinephrine.
What the research says. A 2015 review concluded that tyrosine seems to help cognitive performance mainly in short-term stressful or demanding situations, and only when the body's messenger chemicals are temporarily depleted; its usefulness beyond those situations seemed limited.[17] Most of those studies were in young adults.
Good to know. Tyrosine is also a raw material the body uses to make one of its own hormones. Talk to your doctor before use if you take anything daily for your hormones, or if a clinician checks your hormone levels.
A small nitrogen-containing compound, 2-(dimethylamino)ethanol, that is chemically related to choline and occurs naturally in small amounts in oily fish such as sardines and anchovies. In supplements it is usually supplied as the bitartrate salt.
What the research says. There is no good-quality research on DMAE and memory or attention in healthy adults, and we make no claim for it here.
Good to know. Not enough is known about its safety in pregnancy or breastfeeding, so it should be avoided then. Talk to your doctor before use if you take anything daily.
A plant known as arctic root, golden root or rose root that grows in cold regions and at high altitude in Europe, Asia and North America. The root is the part used.
Traditional and everyday use. A long history of use in Russia, Scandinavia and other parts of Europe for fatigue and work performance.
What the research says. In a double-blind crossover study of 56 healthy young physicians on night duty, one tablet a day of a standardized extract was associated with better scores on tests of mental fatigue during the first two weeks.[18] The National Institutes of Health states there is not enough reliable evidence to say whether rhodiola is useful for any health-related purpose.
Good to know. Possibly safe for up to 12 weeks; side effects reported include dizziness, headache, trouble sleeping and dry mouth. Little is known about safety in pregnancy or breastfeeding. Talk to your doctor before use if you take anything daily.
An extract of the fan-shaped leaves of the ginkgo tree, a species so ancient it is called a living fossil, planted along city streets across the world. This is the herbal extract, a different thing from the homeopathic dilution of ginkgo found in some sprays.
Traditional and everyday use. Ginkgo leaf extract has been sold as a "memory herb" for decades.
What the research says. In the largest trial to date, 3,069 adults aged 72 to 96 took 120 mg of a standardized extract twice a day for a median of 6.1 years and declined at the same rate as the placebo group in memory, attention, language and every other domain measured.[12] The National Institutes of Health states there is no conclusive evidence that ginkgo is helpful for any health condition.[19]
Good to know. Ginkgo may increase the risk of bleeding in people who take anything that thins the blood; fresh ginkgo seeds are toxic. Talk to your doctor before use if you take anything daily or are due for an operation.
A purified alkaloid isolated from a Chinese club moss. It slows the enzyme that breaks down acetylcholine, so it acts on the nervous system in a way most botanical ingredients do not, and it is the one ingredient on this label that behaves more like a medicine than like a food.
Traditional and everyday use. The moss has a history of use in Chinese herbal practice; the purified compound is a twentieth-century isolate.
What the research says. In a placebo-controlled study of healthy adults (12 per group), single doses of 100 or 200 µg of huperzine A slowed the enzyme that breaks down acetylcholine, measured in the blood; the 200 µg dose held declarative recall steady across sessions, but neither dose improved overall performance.[20] Most other research on huperzine A has been done in people with a diagnosed condition and is not cited here.
Good to know. Because it acts on acetylcholine it can cause nausea, sweating, a slow heartbeat or muscle twitching, and it can add to the effect of anything else that acts on the same system. Not for pregnancy or breastfeeding. Talk to your doctor before use if you take anything for your heart, your breathing or your nervous system.
*These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. This information does not constitute medical advice and it should not be relied upon as such. This product is not a substitute for medication or other treatment prescribed by a physician or health care provider. Consult your doctor before starting any dietary supplement.
Set against the headlines that brought you here, this is the complete and honest position.
Things we cannot promise, and that nobody selling you a supplement can:
Things we can say honestly:
No. Those attributions are advertising language. No named or identifiable expert made those statements, and none has endorsed this product.
None of the studies on this page is about plain coffee, and our "Coffee Tops The List" headline overstated it. What is worth watching is added sugar in coffee drinks, and caffeine late enough in the day to cost you a night. [3]
No. Not on your own, and not because of an advertisement. Take everything you take to your pharmacist and ask whether anything is a poor fit for your age.
The vitamin B12, in a narrow sense. It is printed honestly, and it matters to the older adults who are actually low in it, which a blood test can tell you. [10] For people who are not low, the pooled evidence for B vitamins and everyday thinking is a null result. [6]
Because it sits inside a proprietary blend, which the law allows a company to print as one total. The alertness blend reads 655 milligrams for five names together. The largest ginkgo trial used 240 milligrams a day of ginkgo on its own. [12]
The left column says the sweeteners come from plants, the product is vegan, a third-party laboratory meeting an ISO standard has tested it, and it is made without heat; the right column says non-GMO, nothing artificial, not tested on animals, and no gluten, sugar, yeast or milk. The badge about the laboratory does not name the lab, the standard or the result, so ask the company for the report.
Yes. Huperzine A acts on the same messenger system as some everyday medicines, ginkgo may raise the chance of bleeding for anyone taking something that thins the blood, and alpha lipoic acid can change how cells take up glucose. [20] [19] Bring the bottle to your pharmacist if you take anything daily.
Thirty-two mornings at two tablespoons a day. You have 30 days after a direct purchase to call 1-800-995-6607 or write to hi@liquidhealth.us; the company exchanges the bottle or gives store credit, not cash.
Yes. There are 18 on the seller's page and 14 carry the review system's buyer mark. Four are quoted word for word elsewhere on this site, including a three-star one from a buyer who could not see a difference.
A fair question. Do not take our word for it. The references below are real, published sources you can look up yourself, and nothing in sections 4 and 5 requires you to buy anything or trust us. If this page and our headlines disagree, believe this page.
Yes, and you should. Every numbered reference below can be found by searching its authors and journal. For general information, the National Institute on Aging (nia.nih.gov) publishes plain-language material and sells nothing.
These are the sources behind the claims marked with a number above. Several are observational studies, which can show association but not cause. The studies of the names in the two blends tested one ingredient at a time, in other people, at amounts this bottle does not print; several were run in adults far younger than our readers, and one was run by the maker of the ingredient tested. The fact sheets are the governments' own. None of them tested this bottle. We have deliberately not cited anything for the claims we describe as exaggerated, because there is nothing to cite.
Citing a study does not mean the study is about this product. The studies above tested one ingredient at a time, at amounts this bottle mostly does not state, not the bottle itself; none of the research tested Liquid Health, and none of it supports it.
This site is an advertising publication. The Plain Reader is not a news organization, is not affiliated with any news outlet whose page our advertisements appear on, and is not affiliated with the National Institutes of Health, the Nobel Foundation, the Food and Drug Administration, or any medical body, university or government agency named on this page. Logos and names of publishers appear in our reporting dashboards only to describe where advertisements were placed; they imply no endorsement whatsoever.
The product on this site is made and sold by Liquid Health, Inc. of Mesquite, Nevada. Headlines used in our advertising are promotional and may be dramatized, generalized or exaggerated for attention. Where a headline conflicts with this page, this page is correct. Individual results, testimonials and endorsements do not represent typical results. We are compensated when readers purchase products through our links.
Medical disclaimer. Nothing on this page is medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Do not delay seeking professional advice, and do not stop or change anything a clinician gave you, because of anything you read here. If you are worried about memory or concentration, your own or a family member's, speak to a qualified healthcare professional. In an emergency, call your local emergency number.